How many times have you told yourself or someone “no” and gave your reason why, which may have been a sound reason, at the time at least, only to find that you are presented with a similar request later?

“Nope, nope, nope!”
“I don’t have time for that.”
“Can’t afford it.”
“Let me think about it.”
“I don’t want to.”
“I don’t think I’m capable.”

The list goes on as to why we refuse to do something.

However, when we refuse to do something that just happens to continually pop up into our lives–maybe we need to re-examine our reasons.  I don’t believe in coincidences, especially in this sense.  I believe that we are challenged to grow, and these instances are what’s known as a recurring theme.

It is my experience that when we say “no” to something, thinking that’s it, it’s final, yet it rears its ugly head once again, the universe is trying to tell us something–that we have the choice to say “no” again or to really figure out why this thing keeps popping up.

There’s always a lesson.  Maybe that guy asking you out for the 10th time isn’t your usual type–maybe the universe is telling you that you need a different type?  Maybe you’re struggling at work and you’ve been too fearful to make a change to be your own boss or grow with another company?  Maybe you’ve hit another brick wall and haven’t recognize all the opportunities you’ve been saying “no” to the whole time that could help you tear it down?

Whatever it is, don’t be afraid to at least take a look at it.  I find we tend to say “no” and refuse things we’re fearful of.  In many cases, that kind of fear leads us towards a life we don’t really desire.  The things we refuse tend to be out of a fear of success or happiness.

Both are temporary in many ways.  They are ways of life, really.  Mindsets.  Don’t refuse yourself happiness is all I’m really trying to say.  That which seems impossible, yet seems to always be one “yes” away from a reality, is probably your destiny.  But remember, in the end, you always get to choose your destiny.  I just hope you guys are going for the gold!

Tell me about what seems to be a recurring theme in your life these days?  Any coincidences that have been nagging at you?  Let me know if this sparked anything you–I’d love to learn more about my readers!

